Oklahoma – “All Er Nothing”

Oklahoma is simply amazing.  What I have come to know of the folks of Oklahoma is that they stand for progress. I was so warmly received by the Episcopal Diocese of Oklahoma, and the congregation of St. Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral that it has renewed my spirits.

As many of you know the incident that resulted in the loss of my iphone in Salt Lake City hit me hard.  And it was a most difficult personal journey coming to terms with all that I came to understand about just how hard it is on women here in the USA, in particular women who are homeless and my brothers and sister in the African American community. I promise to share more on this later.  For now I must focus on the pilgrimage.

The Very Rev. Justin Lindstrom and The Rev. Canon Susan Colley Joplin pulled off an amazing Women’s Equality Day Vigil in less than 48 hours notice.  State Senator Connie Johnson her passion and commitment to serve all moved me beyond words and Margaret Cox a die-hard activist who has lead the way on many social justice issue here is most impressive, in particular her commitment to abolish the Death Penalty. I thought of my beloved William when she spoke of her work. Especially when Organist H. Scott Raab played the National Anthem. Dean Lindstrom’s sermon brought home just how important it is that everyone come together to move our nation forward in passing the Equal Rights Amendment. I invite you to watch the service on our YouTube Channel.

photo 2

But for now I need to concentrate on my upcoming meeting with Senators Coburn and Inhofe.  So, I am asking that everyone put the word out that I need folks to join me at my meeting with Senator Coburn this coming August 29, 2014  and my meeting with Senator Inhofe the following Tuesday, September 2, 2014 at 9:00 am to discuss their co-sponsoring of SJ Res. 10 and SJ Res. 15.  My personal preference is SJ Res 15, which is the “Three State Strategy”.  I will also be asking that they work on moving our US Congress to back CEDAW.

Please give me a hollar at (415) 233-2048 or shoot me an email at helene@katrinasdream.org.

Finally I hope you enjoy this music video from the production of Oklahoma, “All Er Nothing”

With you it’s all er nuthin’.

All fer you and nuthin’ fer me!

But if a wife is wise, she’s gotta realize

That men like you are wild and free.

So I ain’t gonna fuss, ain’t gonna frown,

Have your fun, go out on the town,

Stay up late and don’t come home till three.

And go right off to sleep if you’re sleepy,

There’s no use waitin’ up fer me!

Let’s help ‘Annie’ and “Will” move all of Oklahoma into the 21st Century – Where Men and Women are Equal